Walton County Government

Mission Statement

The Board of Commissioners seeks to provide quality county services in the most cost-efficient and fiscally responsible manner and to provide the foundation and guidelines necessary for the safety, general welfare and future prosperity of all Walton County citizens.

The general duties of the Board of Commissioners are:

  • To enact resolutions and ordinances for the general health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Walton County;
  • To levy taxation when necessary to finance the operation of the county government;
  • To plan for future public needs; and
  • To provide necessary services to safeguard the well-being and safety of the citizens of Walton County

Walton County Board of Commissioners

Kevin Little, Chair
Mailing Address:  111 South Broad Street, Monroe GA  30655

Home Address:  1269 Good Hope Road, Monroe, GA 30655

Office (770) 267-1301
Home (770) 207-7558

Kevin Little was elected Commission Chairman in 2000 and is currently in his fifth term.  Kevin has lived in Walton County all of his life.  He graduated from Monroe Area High School and Georgia College in Milledgeville earning a B.S. in Public Administration and Political Science. Kevin is a past President of the Association of County Commissioners of Georgia and currently serves as Chair of Personnel for the Northeast Georgia Regional Commission. Kevin and his wife Wendy have four children.

District 1


Mark Banks, District 2
5689 Centerhill Church Rd.
Loganville, GA 30052
Home (770) 466-4915


Mark Banks was elected District 2 Commissioner in 2012 and is currently in his second term.  Mark is a past member of the Walton County Board of Education where he served as both Vice Chairman and Chairman.  He also served on the Walton County Tax Assessors Board. Mark and his wife Sheila have three daughters.  They attend Sharon Baptist Church.

Timmy Shelnutt, District 3
P.O. Box 602
Monroe, GA  30655

Cell (770) 560-6728


Timmy Shelnutt was elected District 3 Commissioner in 2012 and is currently in his second term.  Timmy graduated from Walton County public schools and lives in the Youth Community.  He has been a small business owner for 30 years.  Timmy is a past Chairman of the Walton County Water & Sewerage Authority.  He and his wife Gina have three children and a new granddaughter.  They attend Corinth Christian Church.

Lee Bradford, District 4
3667 Old Monroe Madison Road
Madison, GA 30650

Cell (770) 652-2656


Jeremy Adams, District 5
1890 Eliza Doster Road
Monroe, GA  30656
Cell (678) 313-9273


Dr. Jeremy Adams was appointed as District 5 Commissioner in 2012 and was elected  in 2014 to his first full term. Jeremy owns Adams Chiropractic Clinic in Monroe.  He has five active boys.  The family enjoys sports and outdoor activities.  They attend Gratis Church.  Jeremy’s mission is to keep his district informed and to use tax dollars wisely.  He is a conservative voice representing the needs of the people.

Kirklyn Dixon, District 6
512 Smokerise Drive
Monroe, GA 30656

Cell (678) 938-4816


Kirklyn Dixon was appointed as District 6 Commissioner in 2008 and is currently in his third term.  He serves as Vice Chairman of the Board.  Kirklyn is a graduate of the Georgia Institute of Technology and earned an MBA from Troy State University.   He is employed as the plant manager for Central Label Products in Bogart, Georgia. Kirklyn currently serves on the board of directors for ACTION, Inc.  and is active in Prince Hall Masonic Lodge #38.  Kirklyn and his wife Denise attend Mt. Enon Baptist Church in Monroe, where he serves as the chairman of the Board of Deacons and also teaches Sunday school.